Fire Sermon

I didn’t get it. 🤷🏼‍♀️

Honestly, as I sit here, nothing is memorable about this book.

It’s about a woman who is deeply committed to her husband, yet has a passionate affair (one-night stand??) with a man she met online (??).

Obviously, the story didn’t connect with me AT ALL.

It could have been so good, but it was really just a bunch of nonsensical rambling with a side of oddly-themed religious musings.

I probably should have DNFed his one, but we all know I have a hard time with that. #maybesomeday🙈

Advertisements

Fingerprints of Previous Owners

Screen Shot 2018-03-21 at 4.50.50 PM

Thank you to TLC Book Tours for the free copy to read and review. All opinions are my own. (Click the link above to see the other Instagram tour stops for this book!)

Footprints of Previous Owners by Rebecca Entel explores the violent past of a slave plantation on a fictional island in the Caribbean.

I read this one while in Mexico, so while the tropical descriptions were easy to visualize, Entel’s descriptive writing helped me paint those images in my head with ease.

Myrna, the book’s main character, is a maid at the tourist resort by day, but at night she explores the resort’s grounds to uncover a past that locals chose to ignore.

When a rich African American arrives on the island, she brings new information that also increases tensions between the resort and the locals.

Still Me

Screen Shot 2018-03-21 at 4.40.51 PM

Thank you to the publisher for my free finished copy to review. All opinions are my own.

In general, this is why I shy away from series (with the exception of Harry Potter ⚡️).

By the time I get to the end, I no longer care. 🤷🏼‍♀️

I skimmed most of this one because I couldn’t connect with any of the characters.

Compared to the first two books in the series, this one felt forced.

I know many highly recommended this one, so maybe I’m just not connecting because I’m too distracted while on vacation. 🌴☀️

Bachelor Nation: Inside the World of America’s Favorite Guilty Pleasure

Screen Shot 2018-03-21 at 4.38.07 PM

I started this last night and planned on reading it while on vacation, but I flew through it and finished it on the way to the airport this morning.

It’s a quick read (#obs) and I enjoyed it, but I had already heard many of the #insidersecrets from social media. The few I didn’t know, I’m sure I could have found out easily through some #googling.

If you’re part of #bachelornation and don’t follow the podcasts/bloggers that routinely dish on the show, you’ll be fascinated with this one.

A Little Life

There are no words that can do this book justice, other than READ IT!

It is hauntingly beautiful – a deep character study into the life of Jude St. Francis.

Your heart will be ripped out, ripped up, and pieced back together, but never quite as whole as it was before you started.

You won’t ever forget this story, and you will feel all the feels – love, hope, despair, hurt, anger, sadness.

Reminiscent of The Heart’s Invisible Furies, Jude and Cyril are characters I will never forget and will forever love.

Their stories teach the reader important lessons about life – empathy, love, compassion, kindness, understanding, acceptance.

(Literally, the only criticism I could make of this book is the cover…it’s just not my favorite.)

Do your reading life a favor and read at least on of these titles this year. Don’t let the size or subject matter intimidate you – all are totally worth it!

This book is definitely for fans of A Heart’s Invisible Furies and A Secret History.

The Broken Girls

IMG_1017.JPG

When an old, abandoned boarding school is purchased and a massive remodeling begins, the secrets of the past begin to rise up as well. Idlewild Hall has always had a stronghold on Fiona, now a journalist, because it’s the place where her sister was found murdered. With the restoration under way, Fiona decides to write a feature article on the project in order to dig deeper into the mysterious death of her sister, Deb. But as she heads into her investigation, she will uncover more than just information on Deb.

What I loved about this book was that there were multiple stories going on within the main, present-day plot. Not only is the reader trying to figure out what exactly happened to Deb twenty years ago, but they’re also submerged into a mysterious disappearance that occurred over fifty years ago. Was one of the boarding school girls killed or did she runaway? Was there a ghost haunting the girls at Idlewild Hall, and is the ghost still there? Who is she and what’s her story?

Surprisingly, St. James does a great job of handling all of these subplots. While they are all separate mysteries, eventually St. James weaves them together in the most epic way. Some twists I saw coming; some I didn’t. I loved St. James’ writing style and had a hard time putting this one down.

It releases on March 20, 2018, so mark your calendars – you won’t be disappointed!