Glory Over Everything

Kathleen Grissom is a masterful storyteller!

While Glory Over Everything is a sequel to Grissom’s first novel, The Kitchen House (read my review here), it works nicely as a stand-alone as well.

Grissom has a talent for developing her characters into people you actually feel like you know, getting her readers to quickly become emotionally involved as the story progresses.

I was sad to say goodbye to this book and its characters.

I would say that I liked The Kitchen House slightly more…but I think that’s because I was trying to connect the stories together more than was actually necessary. Once I let go of trying to figure out what each character brought to the new story, I relaxed and was able to enjoy the story in it’s own right.

If you’ve read both of these, which one did you prefer?

Advertisements

Priestdaddy

I admit: I skimmed the last 100 pages (maybe more). The book started off strong – I LOL’d (which I NEVER do) and thoroughly enjoyed the story. I found Lockwood to be funny and even thought this would make a hilarious sitcom (just like everyone else has).

The story is not told chronologically so I enjoyed the short story style of the narrative, but as it drug on, it became super boring. There’s a distinct change in the book (roughly halfway through) and after reading other reviews, it seems like people seem to like the second half better (when Lockwood seems to take on a more serious tone). It didn’t work for me; I liked the light-hearted, humorous side better.

I found myself wondering what the point of this story was for much of it…and I think part of that is because I’m completely thrown off and confused by the cover. Truly, it sends a vibe of incest – which is nowhere close to what this book is about!

I think the thing that kept me reading instead of marking this one a DNF was Lookwood’s writing style. She is a published poet and her metaphorical way of writing is truly beautiful.

Have you read this one? Thoughts??

Warcross (#1)

Holy smokes, this one blew me away!

Admittedly, it started off slow. Real slow. I read it aloud with my ten-year-old daughter and we were both a little bored by it. But somewhere along the way, it gained momentum and became the most action-packed, intense ride!

Think Hunger Games meets Ready Player One.

Warcross was pretty simple: two teams battled each other, one trying to take the other team’s Artifact (a shiny gem) without losing their own. What made it spectacular were the virtual worlds the battles were set in, each one so realistic that putting on your glasses was like dropping you right into that place.I picked this book up for my son (he’s twelve). He’s a very reluctant reader but had recently finished, and loved, Ready Player One. I’m not sure what prompted me to pick it up as a read-along with my daughter, but we both equally loved it and I can’t wait for my son to read it to see what he thinks!

I haven’t read any of Marie Lu’s work before, so I had no idea what I was getting into. But she proved herself to be a masterful storyteller – this story builds to an incredible climax and finishes with several mind-blowing twists. The cliffhanger at the end is perfect and made my daughter and I sad that we can’t run out tomorrow to continue on this fantastic ride!

As mentioned before, Lu has an amazing ability to write in detail. As I was reading it, I felt like I was watching an actual movie. I’m crossing my fingers this gets picked up and is made into a movie ASAP – I think it would be fun to see this one come to life (that’s something I NEVER say…if you know me, you know I am NOT a movie person…but I would definitely go see this one)!!

My only complaint is that there seemed to be some unnecessary narration that took away from the real story. But I forgive that tiny annoyance because the story is that good!

If you haven’t read this one yet, what are you waiting for?!?!?

The Sun and Her Flowers

DSC_2037

I read and loved Milk and Honey (read my review here), but Rupi Kaur just took it to a whole new level with The Sun and Her Flowers!

I loved this collection of poems and know I will return to it over and over again. Kaur tackles a plethora of topics – love, relationships, break ups, death, grief, immigration, and feminism; I felt all the emotions!

Kaur is so talented! Her ability to pack a punch with very few words is inspiring and I can’t wait to read more in the future!

Oh, and her drawings? ❤

Rabbit Cake

DSC_2033

“Boomer died of old age, but I’d figured out by now that death never makes sense, no matter how someone dies: murder, accident, old age, cancer, suicide, you’re never ready to lose someone you love. I decided death will always feel unexplained; we will never be ready for it, and you just have to do the best you can with what you have left.”

After all the high praise I’ve heard about this book, I decided to give it a try. While this type of book isn’t my first choice, sometimes I need a heartwarming and quick read. I expected this one to fill that need but, unfortunately, it didn’t.

If I were a book quitter, I would have quit reading.

I know this may be an unpopular opinion, but I just can’t anymore with these types of books. Not only are the storylines super boring and predictable – but they’re also ridiculously lame.

Is a dad really going to let his troublemaking daughter drop out of school to bake 1,000 rabbit cakes in order to be featured in the Guiness Book of World Records?

Obviously, I’m missing the point and getting hung up on the wrong things, but please JUST STOP WITH IT ALREADY, authors!

If my ten-year-old daughter is capable of writing a more compelling book than a grown adult, we have a problem.

Fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine (you can read my review here) will probably adore this book (though I think both of these are better than Rabbit Cake).

I’m making my first New Year’s Resolution: I WILL STOP READING THESE KINDS OF BOOKS IN 2018! Sadly, they just don’t work for me.

A Visit From the Goon Squad

Hmm…well I’m not quite sure what to say or think about this one. 🤔

In the beginning, it took me awhile to find my rhythm, but then I found it and was loving the book’s distinct (though pretty confusing) writing style.

As I continued to read, I just found myself feeling very meh about the whole thing.

I didn’t care how it was going to all piece together.

I didn’t care about any of the characters.

I didn’t care period-the-end.

(I just got Manhattan Beach in my Book of the Month box so I’m hoping it’s better than this one, though I’ve heard mixed reviews.)

Thank you to the #bookshipproject for lending me the book!! If you haven’t signed up, head over to http://www.thebookshipproject.org for more information on this awesome service!!

Winter Stroll (#2) & Winter Storm (#3)

IMG_0312

I loved the first book in the Winter Street Inn series so much that I ran out to the library and checked out the next two as quickly as I could (read my review of Winter Street, #1, here). While I adored the first one, these two definitely lost some steam for me – especially Winter Storm (#3). I felt like the plot was too predictable at times and the Quinn family is just becoming too unrealistic to me – I mean, ex-lovers all hanging out together, ex-husbands giving their wives away?? **insert eyeroll** – it’s all just too much for me. Also, I lost all allegiance to the series when I Hilderbrand worked another one of her books into the story in Winter Storm. (#sorrynotsorry…I HATE when author’s self-promote like that!) I doubt I’ll continue on with the last book in the series (Winter Solstice #4), so feel free to DM me if you’ve read it and tell me what happens! (I’m totally not kidding – Does Kelley die? Does Ava marry Potter? What happens to Nathanial?)